IPL Teams 2021: Who Owns Which Teams?

For those who frequently wager on cricket, the IPL is one of the most anticipated events of the year. The number of games in the group stage is comparable to that of a World Cup; the competition is both intense and enthralling.

The wealth pumped into the IPL has forever altered cricket. According to Virat Kohli’s net worth, international matches are arranged with the Cricket Id in mind, and cricket stars are wealthier than ever before.

IPL Teams 2021 – History of the IPL

  • Existing IPL Teams
  • Previous IPL Teams
  • Most Successful IPL Team
  • IPL 2021 Public Sale
  • IPL 2022 Groups

Owners of the IPL are from a range of backgrounds. When the IPL was originally created in the late 2000s, there was widespread demand from the ultra-wealthy to participate in this new tournament.

When the majority saw a fad, some recognized an opportunity. The latter have been proven accurate as the IPL has grown in popularity.

IPL Record

So far, there have been thirteen IPL seasons. It was formed in response to the Indian Cricket League (ICL), which was not recognized by the BCCI or ICC, in the late 2000s.

The ICL was considered a rebel league, and players who participated received lifetime bans.

In September of 2007, the IPL was announced. Lalit Modi, who is frequently credited with coming up with the concept, described how the competition would operate, where the cash would come from, and how teams could assemble their squads.

Throughout the cricketing world, this moment was welcomed with a mixture of skepticism and exhilaration.

The BCCI asserted that this was a long-term strategy, not a reaction to the ICL. The Indian Cricket League disbanded in 2008, but the IPL franchises were sold for nearly treble their combined base cost at its inception.

Previous IPL Teams

There are five defunct IPL franchises. The Kochi Tuskers Kerala had the shortest tenure in the league, lasting only one season after joining in 2011 as part of an expansion.

The Kochi-based team ended in eighth place, resulting in elimination from the group stage. In 2011, the franchise failed to pay its 10% bank guarantee due to disagreements amongst its owners.

The IPL board made several attempts to contact the team, but received no answer; in September 2011, it was stated that the team had been dissolved, and its players were put up for auction.

Having won the competition in 2009, the Deccan Chargers are the most recognizable of the defunct teams.

2012 marked the end of the Deccan franchise, which boasted players such as Adam Gilchrist, Kumar Sangakkara, and Dale Steyn. Financial difficulties could not be resolved, and there was no acceptable offer to purchase the franchise.

In addition to Kochi, Pune Warriors India also joined the expansion. Due to a dispute with the league over the annual franchise fee, they continued to play for two more seasons before disbanding in 2013.

Most Successful IPL Team

In recent years, the Mumbai Indians have dominated All Cricket Id, and with good reason. Mumbai has won the competition five times, including four times in the last six years.

Chennai Super Kings are the only other franchise to have won the IPL more than twice; they most recently won the tournament in 2018 before losing to the Indians in 2019.

With Rohit Sharma as captain, Mahela Jayawardene as coach, and Jasprit Bumrah as perhaps the best white-ball bowler in the world, Mumbai is poised for continued success.

The Mumbai franchise has been home to numerous players, including Sachin Tendulkar, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Johnson, and Ricky Ponting, and is widely regarded as the best T20 team ever.

IPL 2021 Public Sale

The auction for the 2021 IPL will take place on February 18th. Each of the eight organizations has previously provided lists of retained and released players.

Two of the most expensive players in IPL history, Ben Stokes and Pat Cummins, were retained by their respective franchises.

Stokes’s team, the Rajasthan Royals, also kept England’s Jofra Archer and Jos Buttler. Rajasthan’s performance in the IPL in 2020 was dismal; the Royals will be active in the 2021 auction.

In the 2021 IPL auction, there are numerous notable players available. There will only be four Australian internationals available: Steve Smith, Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Moeen Ali, Jason Roy, Tom Banton, and Tom Curran also hope to be selected.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button